When you put together the kind of football season that Mart did, you’ve earned whatever rewards come your way.

But even Mart coach Kevin Hoffman was somewhat stunned after learning of the latest honors received by the Panthers.

Mart placed seven players on the first team of the 67th annual Collin Street Bakery/Texas Sports Writers Association Class 2A All-State Football Team, which was released on Tuesday afternoon. Two of those players also took home additional honors, as Mart quarterback Jace Terry was named Co-Offensive Player of the Year with Tenaha’s C.J. Horn, and Mart defensive back Jermaine Madkins won Defensive Player of the Year recognition.

Besides Terry and Madkins, Mart’s other first-team honorees included guard Joan Torres, running back Tyrek Horne, linebackers Zamar Kirven and Cooper Baize, and utility player Shatydrick Bailey.

“That’s just awesome,” Mart coach Kevin Hoffman said. “I don’t know if that’s a record for Mart High School, having that many first-team all-state players. That’s a crazy number, but it just goes to show the kind of kids we have, the talent that they possess, and then they went out and played their tails off. Now they’re reaping the benefits.”

Terry threw for 2,267 yards and 33 touchdowns and ran for 1,018 yards and 18 TDs as Mart went 15-1 and captured the school’s sixth state title. Madkins made 87 tackles and five interceptions for the Panthers’ stifling defense.

Baize had a team-high 182 tackles, while Kirven – a Houston signee – made 127 tackles and scored four defensive TDs in addition to making eight touchdown grabs on offense. Torres was one of the top blockers for Mart’s high-powered offense, which saw Horne rush for 2,090 yards and 26 touchdowns and Bailey go for 21 rushing TDs and 11 receiving.

Crawford senior Charlie Adamick made first-team all-state at kick returner. Adamick averaged 24.3 yards per return and scored three touchdowns on kickoffs, plus averaged 17 yards per punt return.

Central Texas players who made second-team all-state included Bremond center Kellen Stuard and Crawford linebacker Koby Smith. Third-team honorees were Crawford tight end Derrick Shaw, Bremond defensive lineman Nick Bancroft, Mart kick returner Jalon Kirven and Bosqueville junior Marcell Estell, who made third-team honors at both receiver and kick returner.

The Class 3A TSWA all-state team will be revealed on Wednesday.

Don't Miss...