Kalani Brown is one of five finalists for the 2018 Lisa Leslie Award. This is the inaugural year for the award that recognizes the top center in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball. The award is named after the three-time All-American, 1994 National Player of the Year and a 2015 inductee into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Brown is the lone representative in the Big 12 as the Baylor junior joins Teaira McCowan (Mississippi State), A’ja Wilson (South Carolina), Mercedes Russell (Tennessee) and Monique Billings (UCLA).

Brown was recently named the Big 12 Player of the Year and was unanimously selected to the All-Big 12 first team for the second consecutive season. She leads the Big 12 and is fourth nationally in field goal percentage (.654). Brown is averaging a double-double with 19.7 points and 10.1 rebounds per contest.

This month, the five finalists will be presented to Leslie and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2018 Lisa Leslie Center of the Year Award will be determined by a combination of fan votes and input from the Basketball Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans can visit www.hoophallawards.com to vote from March 2-23.

The winner of the award will be announced during ESPN2’s coverage of the national semifinal games at the 2018 NCAA Women’s Final Four in Columbus, Ohio on Friday, March 30.

Don't Miss...