Baylor’s Ian McCaw was named one of 28 winners of the 2014-15 Under Armour Athletic Director of the Year.

McCaw will receive the award at the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics 50th annual convention in June in Dallas.

The award honors athletic directors in seven divisions including Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, NCAA divisions I-AAA, II and III, NAIA and junior colleges.

Besides McCaw, other FBS division honorees were TCU’s Chris Del Conte, Kentucky’s Mitch Barnhart and Connecticut’s Warde Manuel.

“Since 1998, NACDA has been highlighting the notable contributions made by athletic directors across all divisions of our membership,” said NACDA executive director Bob Vecchione. “These 28 winners have been recognized by their peers for their outstanding work on campus, in their community and supporting their student-athletes.”

During this school year, Baylor has won a school-record eight Big 12 championships, a national team title in acrobatics and tumbling, and has had 14 teams earn postseason bids.

Since his arrival in 2003, McCaw has guided Baylor to its most athletic success in school history. Baylor has captured two national championships in women’s basketball and one apiece in men’s tennis and acrobatics and tumbling.

The Bears have earned 56 Big 12 championships. In 2011-12, all 19 sports advanced to postseason competition for the first time in school history.

Baylor’s football team has won consecutive Big 12 championships and has reached bowls in a school-record five straight seasons.

Since 2003, Baylor has raised more than $325 million toward capital projects including McLane Stadium.

Don't Miss...