Republican Donis “D.L.” Wilson and Democrat Patricia “Pat” Chisolm-Miller will face off in the November general election after McLennan County voters chose the two candidates in the Precinct 2 commissioner primaries Tuesday.

The candidate who wins the November election will take office January 1. The new commissioner will be the first new face to represent Precinct 2 in 28 years as Democrat Lester Gibson opted not to run for re-election. The last day to register to vote for the November 6 election is Oct. 9.

Precinct 4 residents opted to keep incumbent Ben Perry in office for his third term as county commissioner instead of choosing political newcomer Mel Priest. No Democrats filed for the Precinct 4 race.

Perry received 5,022 votes, or 74.41 percent, of the total ballots cast. Priest got 1,727 votes, or 25.29 percent.

“I’ve got to recognize my opponent. I know she worked hard,” Perry said. “I’m just appreciative of the fact she was a part of the process.”

Perry said he takes his re-election as a statement from voters they want him to continue in the direction he has worked toward. He said he will continue to be a conservative voice and work toward what is in the best interest of the taxpayers.

McLennan County commissioners make $96,284 a year.

Five candidates filled the ballot for the Tuesday primary in the Precinct 2 race.

Chisolm-Miller has served as Gibson’s administrative assistant for 22 years. She ran on a campaign of increasing humanitarian efforts by the court and vowed to be her own candidate and not a copy of her boss.

She faced off against fellow Democrat Norman Manning, of Waco. Chisolm-Miller received 1,131 votes, or 79.48 percent of the vote. Manning got 292 votes, or 20.52 percent.

She said she was extremely delighted with the results.

“I think it affirms in me what I’ve been saying throughout my campaign and that is Precinct 2 was committed to having a knowledgeable, qualified representative who has a heart for the community.”

Wilson, who by far received the most campaign contributions out of the five candidates, said he was excited.

“Republicans have never had more votes in the primary, which is unheard of for Precinct 2,” Wilson said. “I think that’s the most votes the Republicans have ever had. It’s awesome.”

Wilson received 1,116 votes, or 64.36 percent of the total ballots cast.

He faced Gina Ford, of Axtell, and Vernon Davis, of Waco, in the Republican primary. Ford received 207 votes, or 11.94 percent of the total ballots cast. Davis got 411 votes, or 23.7 percent.

Incumbent David A. Maler also was re-elected to the Precinct 3 Constable seat.

Maler beat primary Republican challenger Danny Lee Volcik.

Maler received 60.87 percent, or 1,431 votes. Volcik got 39.13 percent, or 920 ballots cast.

Cassie L. Smith has covered county government for the Tribune-Herald since June 2014. She previously worked as a reporter for the Beaumont Enterprise and The Eagle in Bryan-College Station. Smith graduated from the University of Texas at Arlington.

Recommended for you