The filing deadline is Feb. 16 for several school board and city council elections in the area.

Candidates have less than a week to file for a multitude of openings on city councils and school boards in the area.

As campaigning continues for the March 6 primary for partisan offices from the county level on up to the U.S. Congress, filing applications are due Feb. 16 for the May 5 local elections. The last day to register to vote in the May election is April 5.

The District 1 Waco City Council seat has drawn three candidates, while the incumbent mayor and District 3 council member remain unopposed.

Luis Mike Guevara, an operations manager at Poppa Rollo’s Pizza, is running against nonprofit director Andrea Barefield and retiree Cecil McDowell for the District 1 seat currently held by Noah Jackson Jr. Jackson is not seeking to run for a full term. The council appointed Jackson to the seat last summer to fill out the term of Councilman Wilbert Austin, who died shortly after stepping down as he battled cancer.

District 1 encompasses East Waco and also includes McLennan Community College, Texas State Technical College and far South Waco.

Mayor Kyle Deaver has filed for a second two-year term and has not yet drawn an opponent. District 3 Councilman John Kinnaird, a trust officer, is also unopposed as he seeks a third term.

Waco Independent School District incumbents Pat Atkins and Stephanie Korteweg have filed to run for another term on the board and have not drawn challengers.

Atkins serves as the board president, and Korteweg represents District 2.

Candidates can file to run for the positions currently held Atkins, Korteweg and board Secretary Norman Manning, who represents District 1. Manning has been vocal about running again but had yet to file as of Friday.

School board members serve three-year terms.

City council races

  • Bellmead

Two candidates have filed for an at-large seat on the Bellmead City Council.

Incumbent Gary Moore filed for re-election and is being challenged by retired photographer Linda Robinson.

Precinct 4 council member William Ridings has also filed for re-election and has not drawn a challenger.

No one has filed for the Precinct 3 seat, currently held by Mark Pace.

  • Beverly Hills

Incumbents Joe Frank Holder and Michael Thompson filed for re-election on the Beverly Hills City Council. No challengers have filed. Residents can also file for the seat held by Tony Garcia.

Each of the three seats come with two-year terms.

  • Crawford

Five people have filed for three at-large seats on the Crawford City Council.

Incumbents Frances Roe, Terrence Smith and Jamie Burgess each filed for re-election, along with newcomers Anthony Bubert and Brian Porter. Each seat is for a two-year term.

  • Hewitt

Ward 1, Place 2 Councilman Wilbert “Walky” Wachtendorf; Ward 2, Place 2 Councilman Bill Fuller; and Ward 3 councilman Steve Fortenberry all filed for re-election this week. No challengers have filed. All positions are two-year terms.

  • Lacy Lakeview

No one has filed for the three at-large seats held by Amy Hall, Patrick Bell and Jerry Hall on the Lacy Lakeview City Council.

  • Lorena

No one has filed for the three seats held by J. Fagner, Jeff Linnstaedter and Kelly Yarbrough.

  • Mart

Four candidates have filed so far for the Mart City Council. Incumbents Henry Witt III and Kevin Schaffer, and newcomer Tomas Mansfield have filed for three open seats with full two-year terms.

Council member Zac Byrd holds the third seat and has not filed for re-election.

John Garrett has filed for the one-year term remaining for the seat the council appointed him to last month.

  • McGregor

Only John Ronnie Guerra and Jeffrey Clayton Douglas have filed, each for the Ward 4 council seat held by Joe Leos. The Ward 2 council seat, held by Paul Allison, and the position of Mayor, held by Jimmy Hering, are also up for election.

  • Valley Mills

Incumbents Wesley Lewis and Curtis Wiethorn filed for re-election on the Valley Mills City Council. Residents can also file to run for the at-large seat held by council members Bill Lancaster and Rodney Nichols.

  • Woodway

Two people have filed so far for the Ward 2 seat on the Woodway City Council, and one has filed for the Ward 3 seat.

Incumbent Michael Tamberella and newcomer David Achterhof each filed for the Ward 2 seat. Newcomer Vic Sober filed for the Ward 3 seat held by Gil Lillard.

School district races

  • Bosqueville ISD

Incumbents Robby James, Heath Jackson and Jeff Bird each filed to run for one of the three at-large positions up for election. School board members serve three-year terms.

  • China Spring ISD

China Spring has three at-large seats open for this election. Newcomers Matt Penney, who works at Baylor University, and Trey Oakley, who works at Methodist Children’s Home, have filed for the election, along with Board Vice President Jeff Bradburn. Seats up for election are held by Bradburn, Secretary Jeff Garrett and Boyd Kent.

  • Connally ISD

Only Vice President Greg Davis has filed to run in Connally ISD’s board election. Terms are also expiring for President Steven Carter and Mike Anderson. All three seats are at-large and have three-year terms.

  • Crawford ISD

Two newcomers, Nathan Lammert and John Baker, have filed for the two at-large seats with three-year terms up for election on Crawford ISD’s board.

The incumbents, Vice President Marvin Hickey and Assistant Secretary Michael Hazzard, are not seeking re-election.

  • La Vega ISD

Only incumbents Phil Bancale and Myron Ridge have filed for re-election on the La Vega ISD school board. Both seats are at-large positions with three-year terms.

  • Lorena ISD

Three people have filed so far for the three at-large seats with three-year terms up for election on the Lorena ISD school board.

Incumbents Greg Hansen and William Woody, and newcomer Kristi Humphreys have filed.

  • Marlin ISD

No one has filed yet for Marlin ISD’s open seats in District C and District D. Because state officials appointed a board of managers to take over the duties and power of the elected board in February 2017, anyone elected will not be able to serve until the appointed board of managers is removed by the state.

  • Mart ISD

Only incumbents Russell Carroll and board Secretary Sara Deike have filed for their at-large positions that come with three-year terms.

  • Midway ISD

Incumbent Tom Pagel filed for re-election for Place 3 on the Midway ISD school board, and newcomer Brad Alford filed for the Place 4 seat, which is held by Bobby Deaton.

  • Valley Mills ISD

Only incumbents Bret Hodges, Tammie Mann-Chrisman and Secretary Mike Jones have filed for the Valley Mills ISD school board. The three open seats are elected at-large and come with three-year terms.

Cassie L. Smith has covered county government for the Tribune-Herald since June 2014. She previously worked as a reporter for the Beaumont Enterprise and The Eagle in Bryan-College Station. Smith graduated from the University of Texas at Arlington.

Recommended for you