Midway thespian group

Members of Midway’s state thespian group are (bottom row, from left) Lauren Brown, Lindsay North, Alexandra Lewis, (middle row) Bethany Neubert, Taylor Neimer, Ally Brown, Abbie Harp, Chandler Cordon, (top row) Mia Scott, Holly Eaker, Andy Kanz, Tyler Sims, Emma Horn, Garret Butler and Lindsey Hartgroves. Not pictured is Bethany Johnson.

Sixteen Midway theater students have qualified for the International Thespian Festival in June.

The Texas Thespian Festival (the state level) was held on Nov. 15-18 at the Gaylord Texan in Grapevine.

Christina Julian was selected as a new state thespian officer, taking over for Nick Marquez, a Midway senior and officer last year.

Qualifying for the international level are:

  • Mia Scott in solo musical.
  • Bethany Neubert and Taylor Neimer in duet musical.
  • Bethany Johnson, Abbie Harp, Ally Brown, Emma Horn, Andy Kanz, Chandler Cordon, Garret Butler and Tyler Sims for group musical.
  • Lindsay North with scenic design and a perfect score.
  • Holly Eaker with sound design and a perfect score.
  • Lindsey Hartgroves with lighting design.
  • Alexandra Lewis with costume construction.
  • Lauren Brown with costume design.
  • The improv troupe placed third in the Texas State Thespian Improvisation Challenge.

Organized by the Educational Theatre Association and hosted by the University of Nebraska, the International Thespian Festival is June 25-30. It is an experience in singing, dancing, acting, designing, directing, creating and writing.

Midway’s students will raise funds through the spring semester to cover travel expenses. To contribute, contact jill.wilkinson@midwayisd.org.

Recommended for you