Waco ISD honored numerous principals and assistant principals during its Educators Appreciation Night on Monday. Those recognized, by campus, were:

Bell’s Hill Elementary — Jillian Atkins, assistant principal.

Brook Avenue Elementary — Sarah Pedrotti, principal; Jessica Torres, assistant principal.

Cedar Ridge Elementary, PDS — Helen Smith, principal; Erin Lange, assistant principal.

Dean Highland Elementary — Thia Allen, principal; Paula Gifford, assistant principal; Rhonda Parker, assistant principal.

Hillcrest Elementary, PDS — Dr. Amy Mathews-Perez, principal; Jennifer Lundquist, assistant principal.

J.H. Hines Elementary — Shelby Lee, assistant principal; Jennifer Sharp, assistant principal.

Kendrick Elementary — Tonya Coleman, principal.

Lake Air Montessori Magnet, PDS — Stephanie Tankersley, principal; Dr. Mary Phillips, assistant principal.

Parkdale Elementary — Kathy Densmore, assistant principal.

Provident Heights Elementary — Debbie Sims, principal; Courtney Whitaker, assistant principal.

South Waco Elementary — Twana Lee, principal; Diego Veloz, assistant principal.

West Avenue Elementary — Joseph Alexander, principal.

Cesar Chavez Middle School — Suzanne Hamilton, principal; Lauren Frasure, assistant principal; Lena Ortiz, assistant principal.

G.W. Carter Middle School — Alonzo McAdoo, principal; Isabel Corona, assistant principal; Janeigh Jones, assistant principal.

Indian Springs Middle School — Anthony Jackson, assistant principal.

Tennyson Middle School — Lisa Hall, principal; Matt Rambo, assistant principal; Tammy Scott, assistant principal; Amanda Flentge, assistant principal; John Johnston, assistant principal.

University High School — Dr. Ricky Edison, principal; Bryant Adams, assistant principal; Lisa Cain, assistant principal; Demetrius Ellis, assistant principal; Tarl Lloyd, assistant principal; Isabel Lozano, assistant principal; TroyTinney, assistant principal.

Waco High School — Ed Love, principal; Lisa Saxenian, dean of academies; James Stewart, assistant principal; Francine Halliburton-Francis, assistant principal; Elizabeth Velasco, assistant principal; Donna Burgess, assistant principal; Jerry Johnson, assistant principal.

Wiley Opportunity Center — Deloz Lenord, assistant principal.

Greater Waco Academies (GWAMA & GWAHCA) — Dr. Dale McCall, director.

Greater Waco Advanced Health Care Academy — Krystal Wilson, assistant director.

Three principals received special recognition for their schools’ performances on the STAAR tests. They are: Edison, of University High; Hall, of Tennyson Middle; and Coleman, of Kendrick Elementary.

Julie Sapaugh, principal of J.H. Hines Elementary, was given special recognition for her school’s improvement on the STAAR tests.

Send submissions via email to neighborplus@

Recommended for you