Brazos Education scholars

Brazos Education Foundation scholarship recipients for 2018 are (front row, from left) Judith Hernandez, Emily Hines, Isabela Lozano, Crystal Leon, Ariel Johnson, (back row) Zachary Bartek, Dawson Brown, Emmanuel Avila Jr., Makayla Caudle and Courtney Klaus. Not pictured are Brett Castanon and Kylie Rawlins.

The Brazos Education Foundation held orientation for its 2018 scholarship recipients on Aug. 2.

Students listened to various presentations to help them with the transition to college and took part in the Real World Simulation, led by county extension agent Colleen Foleen.

The foundation provides scholarships to graduating seniors attending 12 Title 1 high schools in McLennan County.

This year’s recipients are Emmanuel Avila Jr., Texas A&M University; Zachary Bartek, Baylor University; Dawson Brown, Texas A&M University; Brett Castanon, Texas A&M University; Makayla Caudle, Tarleton State University; Judith Hernandez, University of Texas at Austin; Emily Hines, University of Texas at Austin; Ariel Johnson, McLennan Coummunity College; Courtney Klaus, University of Texas at Tyler; Crystal Leon, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor; Isabela Lozano, Texas A&M University; and Kylie Rawlins, Concordia University.

Recommended for you