Samantha Yruegas, a fifth-year Ph.D. student in chemistry and biochemistry at Baylor University, has been named to the Periodic Table of Younger Chemists by the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC).

KWTX-TV morning news co-anchor Taina Maya Canizales is one of 12 Women of Distinction being honored by the Texas Association of Mexican American Chambers of Commerce.

Two Midway High School graduates and their college a cappella groups are headed to the International Championship of Collegiate A Cappella semifinals after winning at a quarterfinal competition.

Caleb Chakmakjian, a member of the Live Oak Classical School High School Choir, performed with the Texas All-State Small School Mixed Choir in San Antonio on Feb. 16 at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center.

The Waco Stars Square Dance Club recently honored longtime member Ken Swafford for his dedication to the club. He will be moving to Tennessee. Pictured are (from left) Peggy Lambert, Gerald Skipper, Gail Shipp, Ken Swafford and club President Travis Walden.

A student from Midway High School and a team from Live Oak Classical School were the top winners in the 63rd annual Central Texas Science and Engineering Fair held Feb. 26-27 at Texas State Technical College.

Morgan Wray was crowned the new Miss Heart O’ Texas Fair & Rodeo on Feb. 20 at the Extraco Events Center.

James Sherwin, a member of the Robinson High School choir, performed with the Texas All-State Small School Mixed Choir in San Antonio on Feb. 16 at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center.

The Holland Volunteer Fire Department purchased a 2018 Super Duty F-750 thanks to a $192,000 grant through the Texas A&M Forest Service Rural Volunteer Fire Department Assistance Program.

Baylor University English professor and poet Chloe Honum is the recipient of the 2019 Grimshaw Sargeson Fellowship, New Zealand’s most prestigious writing fellowship.

The Westphalia Knights of Columbus held a 42 domino tournament on Jan. 27 and drew a record 56 players. Brian Hoover (front row, center) won all eight games that we played to claim first place. Ernest Dieterich (front row, left) won all but one game to take second, and Leslie Hoff placed third. All three were presented a set of dominos by James Kahlig (back row, left) and Joseph Doskocil.

Brinley Allison, a member of McLennan County 4-H, caught a calf during Fort Worth Stock Show & Rodeo’s Calf Scramble on Feb. 4, earning a $500 purchase certificate for a show heifer and the chance for up to $12,500 in scholarship awards.

The Greater Waco Christian Home Educators mock trial team won the Region 12 Texas High School Mock Trial Competition, sponsored by the McLennan County Young Lawyers Association and held at the Baylor Law School Jan. 31-Feb. 2.

The Waco FTC Robotics League concluded its season Jan. 19 with a championship tournament that drew 13 teams from Harmony Science Academy, Reicher Catholic High School, Greater Waco Advanced Manufacturing Academy, Vanguard College Preparatory School, Killeen High and Midway High.

Midway Middle School has been designated as a Texas School to Watch by the National Forum to Accelerate Middle-Grades Reform and the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals (TASSP) as part of a national recognition program.

April Harris, assistant principal of Midway Middle School in Hewitt, has been selected to represent the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals as the Texas Assistant Principal of the Year.

The Heart O’ Texas Fair & Rodeo is looking to fill its 2019 Sweetheart roster with young women from Waco and surrounding areas with a heart to serve the community.

Twelve students received 2019 Blackland Income Growth Scholarships at the Blackland Income Growth conference in Waco. Recipients are (front row, from left) Kolby Dague, a Holland 4-H Club member in Bell County; Braylee Mackie, of Troy and an Oenaville 4-H member in Bell County; Brittnee Hamilton, an Otto 4-H member in Falls County; Morgan Bradshaw, a Livestock 4-H Club member in Grayson County; Bailey McCollum, a Whitewright 4-H member in Grayson County; Caire Crow, a Robinson 4-H member in McLennan County; (back row) Grace Lauderdale, a Heart of Texas 4-H member from Waco; Olivia Pankonien, a Heart of Texas 4-H member from Mart; Scott Widner, a Thorndale 4-H member in Milam County; Katie Whitfield, a Texas Wranglers 4-H Club member and Keller High student in Tarrant County; Heather Baker, a Georgetown 4-H member in Williamson County; and Payton Holcomb, a Georgetown 4-H member in Williamson County.

The La Vega High School Class of 1974 had to cancel the birthday party it had planned for its beloved teacher and librarian, Diane Dietiker, after she had an accident that required surgery at Providence Health Center.