The Midway High School art department took 30 students to Harker Heights High School on Feb. 16 to compete in the annual Texas Art Education Association Visual Arts Scholastic regional and area Event.

The Score, a flagship newsletter for the American Psychological Association (APA) Division 5, the Division of Quantitative and Qualitative Methods, dedicated a recent issue solely to Roger E. Kirk, Ph.D., the Distinguished Professor of Psychology and Statistics and Master Teacher at Baylor University, in celebration of 60 years in the statistics field and his formal retirement at the end of the spring semester.

Engineman 3rd Class Khalil Shelton, from Waco, assigned to USS Gerald R. Ford’s reactor department, receives an enlisted surface warfare specialist certificate from Cmdr. Emily Bassett, the ship’s reactor officer, during an awards-at-quarters ceremony in the ship’s reactor training classroom. Ford is undergoing its post-shakedown availability at Huntington Ingalls Industries-Newport News Shipbuilding.

Ruby Strange, the longtime secretary for former McLennan County Sheriff Jack Harwell, turned 107 on March 25. She celebrated her birthday with current McLennan County Sheriff Parnell McNamara and Harwell’s former chief deputy, Dan Weyenburg, at Heartis Senior Living.

The ninth annual “Spring Onto Summer Food Drive” will take place Saturday and is designed to help local food pantries better meet the increased demand for supplemental food that is expected during the summer — a time when there is also a decrease in food and monetary donations to the organizations.

Live Oak Classical School seniors Monica Colón and Carter Mencken were recognized this spring as National Merit Finalists for their high scores on the National Merit Preliminary SAT taken during their junior years.

Education Service Center (ESC) Region 12 Technology Foundation recently awarded six school districts with nearly $53,000 in grant funds to support educational technology programs.

China Spring Middle School seventh-grader Timmy Reid’s innovative idea for keeping a pacemaker operating without batteries won first place in his category at the Texas Science and Engineering Fair.

The Waco Women’s Lions Club and Meals on Wheels Waco are hosting a “Legacy Story” writing contest for seniors to share their stories of who has most impacted their life, important lessons they’ve learned, or the story of a life-changing experience.

Samantha Yruegas, a fifth-year Ph.D. student in chemistry and biochemistry at Baylor University, has been named to the Periodic Table of Younger Chemists by the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC).

KWTX-TV morning news co-anchor Taina Maya Canizales is one of 12 Women of Distinction being honored by the Texas Association of Mexican American Chambers of Commerce.

Two Midway High School graduates and their college a cappella groups are headed to the International Championship of Collegiate A Cappella semifinals after winning at a quarterfinal competition.

Caleb Chakmakjian, a member of the Live Oak Classical School High School Choir, performed with the Texas All-State Small School Mixed Choir in San Antonio on Feb. 16 at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center.

The Waco Stars Square Dance Club recently honored longtime member Ken Swafford for his dedication to the club. He will be moving to Tennessee. Pictured are (from left) Peggy Lambert, Gerald Skipper, Gail Shipp, Ken Swafford and club President Travis Walden.

A student from Midway High School and a team from Live Oak Classical School were the top winners in the 63rd annual Central Texas Science and Engineering Fair held Feb. 26-27 at Texas State Technical College.

Morgan Wray was crowned the new Miss Heart O’ Texas Fair & Rodeo on Feb. 20 at the Extraco Events Center.

James Sherwin, a member of the Robinson High School choir, performed with the Texas All-State Small School Mixed Choir in San Antonio on Feb. 16 at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center.

The Holland Volunteer Fire Department purchased a 2018 Super Duty F-750 thanks to a $192,000 grant through the Texas A&M Forest Service Rural Volunteer Fire Department Assistance Program.

Baylor University English professor and poet Chloe Honum is the recipient of the 2019 Grimshaw Sargeson Fellowship, New Zealand’s most prestigious writing fellowship.

The Westphalia Knights of Columbus held a 42 domino tournament on Jan. 27 and drew a record 56 players. Brian Hoover (front row, center) won all eight games that we played to claim first place. Ernest Dieterich (front row, left) won all but one game to take second, and Leslie Hoff placed third. All three were presented a set of dominos by James Kahlig (back row, left) and Joseph Doskocil.

Brinley Allison, a member of McLennan County 4-H, caught a calf during Fort Worth Stock Show & Rodeo’s Calf Scramble on Feb. 4, earning a $500 purchase certificate for a show heifer and the chance for up to $12,500 in scholarship awards.

The Greater Waco Christian Home Educators mock trial team won the Region 12 Texas High School Mock Trial Competition, sponsored by the McLennan County Young Lawyers Association and held at the Baylor Law School Jan. 31-Feb. 2.

The Waco FTC Robotics League concluded its season Jan. 19 with a championship tournament that drew 13 teams from Harmony Science Academy, Reicher Catholic High School, Greater Waco Advanced Manufacturing Academy, Vanguard College Preparatory School, Killeen High and Midway High.