Pete Fredenburg, who built a national championship college football program out of the dust, will take his place alongside the other great college coaches in state history as part of the 2018 class of inductees to the Texas Sports Hall of Fame.

Vince Young knows something about winning national titles as well. The former University of Texas quarterback, who directed the Longhorns to the 2005 NCAA championship with a memorable 41-38 victory over USC in the Rose Bowl, also was voted in as a member of the class, which the Sports Hall of Fame announced Monday. The rest of the group includes Super Bowl-winning coach Gary Kubiak, former Texas Rangers all-star Michael Young, ex-Texas Tech athletic director Gerald Myers, Duncanville High School girls basketball coach Cathy Self-Morgan, former University of Texas volleyball and basketball star Nell Fortner, former Olympic swimming gold medalist Jill Sterkel and former record-setting Texas A&I running back Johnny Bailey.

The class will be enshrined at a banquet at the Ferrell Center on April 7, 2018.

Fredenburg started the program at Mary Hardin-Baylor from scratch in 1998. The Crusaders have gone 196-38 under his watch with 14 conference championships and one NCAA Division III national title, won last season. He also spent 11 years as a defensive assistant under Grant Teaff at Baylor.

Self-Morgan constructed Duncanville’s girls basketball program into a statewide powerhouse. She has led the Lady Panthers to five state championships, and from 2012 to 2014 Duncanville won 105 straight games.

For her career, Self-Morgan has accumulated more than 1,000 wins and eight state titles, including three at Austin Westlake. She was a decorated basketball player at the University of Texas before joining the coaching ranks. She has won numerous honors over the course of her coaching career, including the Naismith National Coach of the Year honor.

After a stellar high school football career at Houston Yates, Bailey carved out his place at one of the great small-school college players of all-time. He rushed for 6,320 yards at Texas A&I — which is now known as A&M-Kingsville — from 1986-89, becoming the first (and still only) three-time winner of the Harlon Hill Trophy, given to the nation’s top NCAA Division II player.

Bailey played in 81 games in the NFL with three teams, making the Pro Bowl as a return specialist in 1992. He died from pancreatic cancer in 2010 at age 43.

A California native, Sterkel joined the University of Texas swimming and diving team after high school. She won NCAA titles in the 50-yard butterfly and the 100-yard butterfly as a senior in 1983. She was a three-time team captain on the U.S. Olympic team, representing her country in 1976, 1984 and ’88 while capturing two gold medals and two bronzes. She later coached UT’s swimming and diving team from 1992-2007, helping two Longhorn swimmers reach the Olympic team themselves.

Vince Young accounted for 467 yards of offense in UT’s epic win over USC, which gave the Longhorns their first national title since 1970. He won NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year honors with the Tennessee Titans in 2006, and twice made the Pro Bowl.

Michael Young was a seven-time all-star infielder for the Rangers. He won the AL batting crown in 2005, and finished his career with an even .300 batting average.

A native of Houston, Kubiak played quarterback at Texas A&M and in the NFL before entering the coaching ranks. In the NFL, he has served as the head coach for both the Houston Texans and the Denver Broncos, winning Super Bowl 50 with the Broncos. He has an overall NFL coaching record of 82-75 with three division titles.

Myers was a basketball player and coach at Texas Tech before moving into athletic administration. As the Red Raiders’ head coach, he went 358-304 with a pair of Southwest Conference regular-season titles and three tournament crowns. He was a five-time SWC Coach of the Year.

Recommended for you