Dr. Lewis Hilley, Beverley Bowes-Hackney, Tommy Connell and John Zimmerman have been named to the 2017 class of the Texas Tennis Museum and Hall of Fame.

Hilley is a Waco High graduate who played tennis at Baylor in 1940. He went on to coach Lamar University to six NAIA national tennis titles and five national golf titles.

Bowes-Hackney was a four-time All-American at the University of Texas and competed professionally on the WTA tour from 1987-95.

Connell was a four-year letterman at Texas A&M who went on to become the USPTA Texas president and national player of the year. Zimmerman was a state champion tennis player at Cuero who went on to play at Rice.

The new members will be inducted at a banquet Nov. 11 at the Texas Sports Hall of Fame. Tickets are $80 apiece or $600 for a table for eight. For more information call Emily McAnsh at 254-756-1633.

Recommended for you