Waco High’s Ken Casner, Temple’s Brad Dusek and Mart’s John Garrett are among the former Central Texas standouts who made the ballot for the 2018 class of the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame.

Additionally, Waco ISD athletic director Johnny Tusa, formerly head coach at Waco High, made the list of coaching candidates.

Nominees are separated by the decade in which they played, with one player from each decade being voted in each year. Additionally, two coaches are chosen, as well as the Dave Campbell Contributor to the Game honor. ESPN 1660’s David Smoak is among the special contributors up for consideration.

The class will be voted on by a statewide committee of sportswriters, coaches and members of the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame board. The new inductees will be introduced in December at the UIL state championship football games.

Here’s a look at the entire ballot:

1950s & Before

Ray Borneman, Houston Lamar

Bobby Cavazos, Kingsville

Jerry Mays, Dallas Sunset

Johnny Genung, Wichita Falls

Charley Taylor, Grand Prairie Dalworth

Buddy Kellar, Smithville

Ken Casner, Waco High


Norman Evans, Donna

Ken Houston, Lufkin Dunbar

Gene Upshaw, Robstown

Gary Keithley, Alvin

Dickey Morton, Dallas Kimball

Riley Odoms, West Oso

Bobby Weunsch, Houston Jones

Brad Dusek, Temple


Pat Rockett, San Antonio Lee

Putt Choate, Coahoma

Rick McIvor, Fort Stockton

Hosea Taylor, Longview

Jon Rhiddlehoover, Abilene Cooper

Lawrence Sampleton, Seguin

Ken Washington, Port Arthur Lincoln

Byron Linwood, Pittsburg


Tony Jones, Grapeland

Ty Allert, Houston North Brook

Larry Centers, Tatum

Tommy Jeter, Deer Park

Willie Everett, Daingerfield

James Shibest, Aldine MacArthur

Michael Horace, Groveton

Kent Tramel, Corsicana


Jason Bragg, Stephenville

Alan Faneca, Lamar Consolidated

Ketric Sanford, Corsicana

John Garrett, Mart

John Norman, Midland Lee

David Warren, Tyler

Plez Adkins, Bartlett

Kliff Kingsbury, New Braunfels

Bethel Johnson, Corsicana


Jonathan Gray, Aledo

Cedric Griffin, SA Holmes

Joe Pawelek, Smithson Valley

Roy Miller, Kileen Shoemaker

Greg McElroy, South Lake Carroll

Nathan Vasher, Texarkana

Garrett Gilbert, Lake Travis

Eddie Joseph Coach Honor

Johnny Tusa, Waco

Chad Morris, Bay City, Lake Travis

T.J. Mills, Sealy

Bob Shleton, Buda Hays

Scott Phillips, Groveton, Waxahachie

Lynn Etheredge, Tomball

Dennis Alexander, Daingerfield

Dave Campbell Contributor to the Game

Carl Padilla, Media

Jack Moss, Athletic Administration

David Smoak, Media

Maury Salinger, Media

Bruce Hardy, Stadium Manager

Bob West, Media

John Heidtke, Media

Recommended for you