The Midway boys’ and girls’ soccer teams mopped up a host of awards in the District 8-5A postseason all-district teams this week.

On the boys’ side, forward Leo Peralta was named the district MVP, while senior Aaron Wible earned the district’s midfielder of the year plaudit. Brian Campos, Jorge Maldonado, Rowan Meyer and Andrew Wible were all named first-teamers, while Emanuel Barbus, Austin Carter, BuBu Alvarez and Conrad Delreal made the second team.

As for the Midway girls’ team, Alyssa Paschal was named the district’s defensive MVP, while Audrey Johnson was handed the newcomer of the year award. Johnson scored the penalty kick that sent Midway to the second round of the playoffs.

Elsewhere, Cameron Carter, Madi Low, Lauren Vasquez and Bailey Johnston were named to the district’s first team. Krishna Perez, Josey Meyer, Miranda Manes and Marisol Reyes made the second team.

In their first year back in Class 5A, both Midway teams finished second to Belton in district and ended their seasons in the second round of the playoffs.

— Will Parchman

Don't Miss...