Teague’s Marcus Williams was named to the first team on the Texas Sports Writers Association’s Class 3A all-state football team. The offensive lineman is the lone Central Texas player to be named to the First Team.

His teammates, offensive lineman Jacob Maggard and running back Tayvis Coleman, were named to the third team.

Trevor Scott of West was named a second team linebacker. Marlin’s Alik Brooks joined Scott on the second team as the kick returner and utility player.

On the third team was Cameron Yoe wide receiver Iverson Westbrook and Clifton running back Marc Gutierrez.

Rockdale quarterback Torry Locklin was named the TSWA Class 3A offensive player of the year after throwing for 2,565 yards and 27 touchdowns with only seven interceptions. He also ran for another 2,481 yards and 32 touchdowns as Rockdale won the Class 3A Division I state championship.

Newton linebacker Corbin Foster was named the defensive player of the year after he finished with 240 tackles to lead Newton to the Class 3A Division II state title. of construction.

Don't Miss...