Parkview won its first state football trophy since 1996 (as an 11-man team) Saturday afternoon as the Pacers outlasted Corpus Christi Annapolis, 65-62 for the TCAL Div. II state crown at Houston Baptist University’s Husky Stadium.

Parkview took an early 16-0 lead after a pair of touchdown runs by Jeremiah Thomas.

A nine-yard touchdown pass from Ian Guerrero to Braeden Arp gave the Pacers a 45-8 lead before Annapolis went to work to slim down the deficit.

Annapolis cut Parkview’s lead to 19 points with 4:27 left in the game. Back to back scores for Annapolis had the Pacers up by one five points with 2:49 remaining.

Annapolis recorded an interception with just over a minute left in the game to set up its offense at its own 33 yard-line, but Valiant Thomas recovered a fumble merely seconds later to give the ball back to Parkview.

That set up a 32-yard touchdown pass from Guerrero to Arp with 59 seconds left to put the Pacers up by 11. Annapolis would score once more in the contest, but Parkview recovered the onside kick and took a knee to run down the clock.

Don't Miss...