Central Texas schools are busy making preparations for National Signing Day ceremonies on Feb. 1, and yet again Midway will hold one of the largest such events.

Five Midway football players are scheduled to sign that day, which signals the opening of the spring signing period. They are D’Unte Brown (Texas A&M-Commerce), Albert McGowen and Leondrae Robinson (UMHB), Josh Owen (Riverside City College) and Hunter Williamson (Hardin-Simmons).

But they won’t be alone. Athletes from six other sports will also take part in Midway’s signing-day event. Cross country/track standout Peter Ferretter will sign with Vassar College in New York, soccer’s Thomas Meehan is bound for Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology in Indiana, golf’s Daniel Seibert will attend Abilene Christian and baseball’s Matthew Young will sign with Schreiner University in Kerrville, Texas.

Other Midway athletes who signed in November will also take part in the ceremony – volleyball’s Allye Beth Deaton (TCU), Samantha Sanders (Texas A&M), Callie Williams (Tennessee), Avery Rhodes (Iowa State) and Miranda Youmans (North Texas), baseball’s Matthew Miles (Oklahoma State) and softball’s Haley Moore (UT-Tyler) and Rhein Trochim (Illinois).

The ceremony is slated for 9:15 a.m. in the Midway High theatre.

Some of the times for other signing-day events in Central Texas include Waco High (8 a.m.), La Vega (8:30), Reicher (9:30), McGregor (10), China Spring (12:30), Bremond (12:45) and Temple (4:30).

Don't Miss...