Since the league’s first season in 1997, 11 Lady Bears have been selected in the WNBA Draft.

This Thursday Nina Davis, Alexis Jones and Alexis Prince hope to join that prestigious list and have their name called in the 2017 WNBA Draft presented by State Farm.

Sheila Lambert (seventh overall pick) was the first Lady Bear to be selected in 2002.

Lambert spent four seasons in the WNBA and was part of the Detroit Shock’s 2003 championship team.

Danielle Crockrom (11th overall pick) joined Lambert in 2002, while Brittney Griner (first overall pick) and Brooklyn Pope (28th overall pick) were both taken in 2013.

Never have three Lady Bears been selected in the same draft.

Until, quite possibly, this year.

According to multiple mock drafts Davis, Jones and Prince should each be selected in the first two rounds. has Davis taken with the 10th overall pick and Jones right behind her with the 11th overall pick. Prince isn’t far behind at 14th. has Jones 11th, Prince 12th and Davis 22nd, while has Jones 10th, Prince 11th and Davis 19th.

Baylor WNBA Draft history

2002: Sheila Lambert (Charlotte Sting, seventh pick)

Spent four years in the league with Charlotte Sting, Detroit Shock and Houston Comets

Member of 2003 Detroit WNBA Championship team

2002: Danielle Crockrom (Utah Starzz, 11th pick)

One season in the WNBA

2005: Steffanie Blackmon (Seattle Storm, 38th pick)

2006: Sophia Young-Malcolm (San Antonio Silver Stars, fourth pick)

Spent nine years in the league and was a three-time WNBA All-Star

Retired as the franchise leader in career points, rebounds, steals and games played

2007: Bernice Mosby (Washington Mystics, sixth pick)

Spent three seasons in the WNBA

2008: Angela Tisdale (Chicago Sky, 33rd pick)

2009: Jessica Morrow (Atlanta Dream, 27th pick)

Chose not to report to training camp, became a graduate assistant at Incarnate Word

2013: Brittney Griner (Phoenix Mercury, first pick)

Entering her fifth season in the league where she has been a three-time WNBA All-Star

Member of the 2014 Phoenix Mercury WNBA championship team as well as a gold medalist for Team USA at the 2016 Rio Olympics

2013: Brooklyn Pope (Chicago Sky, 28th pick)

2014: Odyssey Sims (Tulsa Shock, second pick)

Entering her fourth season in the league after being named to the 2014 All-WNBA Rookie Team

Recently traded to the Los Angeles Sparks

2016: Niya Johnson (Atlanta Dream, 28th pick)

2017 WNBA Draft Order

1. San Antonio Stars

2. Chicago Sky (from Washington Mystics)

3. Dallas Wings

4. Dallas Wings (from Connecticut Sun via Los Angeles Sparks)

5. San Antonio Stars (from Phoenix Mercury)

6. Washington Mystics (from Seattle Storm)

7. Atlanta Dream

8. Connecticut Sun (from Indiana Fever)

9. Chicago Sky

10. Dallas Wings (from New York Liberty)

11. Los Angeles Sparks (from Los Angeles Sparks via Dallas Wings)

12. Minnesota Lynx

Second Round

13. Connecticut Sun (from San Antonio Stars via Phoenix Mercury)

14. New York Liberty (from Dallas Wings)

15. Seattle Storm (from Washington Mystics)

16. Connecticut Sun

17. Indiana Fever (from Phoenix Mercury)

18. Washington Mystics (from Seattle Storm)

19. Atlanta Dream

20. Indiana Fever

21. Chicago Sky

22. Indiana Fever (from New York Liberty via Atlanta Dream)

23. Dallas Wings (from Los Angeles Sparks)

24. Minnesota Lynx

Third Round

25. San Antonio Stars

26. Dallas Wings

27. Washington Mystics

28. Connecticut Sun

29. Phoenix Mercury

30. Seattle Storm

31. Atlanta Dream

32. Indiana Fever

33. Chicago Sky

34. New York Liberty

35. Los Angeles Sparks

36. Minnesota Lynx


Don't Miss...