Lauren Cox is one of five finalists for the 2018 Katrina McClain Award which recognizes the top power forward in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball. It carries the namesake of two-time All-American, 1987 National Player of the Year and 2012 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame inductee.

The Baylor sophomore is the only representative from the Big 12 as she joins junior Napheesa Collier (UConn), junior Caliya Robinson (Georgia), senior Myisha Hines-Allen (Louisville) and sophomore Ruthy Hebard (Oregon).

Cox was recently named the unanimous Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year in addition to being on the All-Big 12 first team. She is averaging 14.8 points, 9.3 rebounds and 2.5 blocks per game. Cox has recorded 11 double-doubles, six 20-point efforts and 13 double digit rebound performances this season.

This month, the five finalists will be presented to Ms. McClain-Pittman and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2018 Katrina McClain Power Forward of the Year Award will be determined by a combination of fan votes and input from the Basketball Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans are encouraged to visit to cast their votes March 2-23.

The winner of the 2018 Katrina McClain Power Forward Award will be announced during ESPN2’s telecast of the national semifinal games in the 2018 NCAA Women’s Final Four in Columbus, Ohio on Friday, March 30.

Don't Miss...