Baylor Texas A&M NCAA tennis

The Baylor women’s tennis team announced its 2018 schedule Monday afternoon.

Staff — Rod Aydelotte, file Baylor women’s tennis team announced its 2018 schedule Monday afternoon.

Baylor women's tennis announced its 2018 schedule Monday afternoon. The Lady Bears are slated to play 15 matches in Waco at Hurd Tennis Center or Hawkins Tennis Center.

Baylor will face 19 power five opponents with nine in the Big 12 and 10 in the nonconference portion of the schedule. Meanwhile the Lady Bears, led by 16th-year head coach Joey Scrivano, are coming off their 13th-straight NCAA Tennis Championship appearance.

Baylor opens the spring season on Jan. 21 at Rice before returning to Waco to host a doubleheader against Western Michigan and New Mexico on Jan. 26. From there, Baylor hits the road to meet Vanderbilt and Kentucky on Feb. 2 and Feb. 4, respectively.

A four-match home set against Tulsa on Feb. 10, UCF on Feb. 11, Ole Miss on Feb. 17 and Miami on Feb. 18 follows before Baylor heads to the Pacific Northwest for a pair of matches. The Lady Bears face Oregon on Feb. 23 and Washington on Feb. 25.

Two Big Ten opponents in Ohio State and Michigan visit Waco on March 2 and March 9, respectively, then the Lady Bears open the Big 12 Conference schedule on the road at Kansas on March 12 and at Kansas State on March 13.

After meeting Pepperdine and USC at the BNP Paribas Open Collegiate Challenge on March 16-17 in Indian Wells, Calif., Baylor hosts four matches at home. The team welcomes Oklahoma State on March 23, Oklahoma on March 25, Northwestern on March 27 and Texas Tech on April 6.

Following a road match at TCU on April 8, Baylor will meet Louisiana Tech and West Virginia on April 13 in doubleheader action. The Lady Bears will face Iowa State on April 15 in Waco, before concluding the regular season with a match at Texas on April 20.

The Big 12 Championship, hosted by Texas, runs from April 26-29 in Austin, Texas.

NCAA First and Second Rounds are scheduled to be played at campus sites yet to be determined on May 12-13, while the NCAA Championship will be hosted by Wake Forest from May 17-28 in Winston-Salem, N.C.

Don't Miss...