Residents interested in applying for a position on one of the eight McLennan County city councils or five school boards holding elections this November can do so starting this week.

Starting Saturday, prospective candidates can file until 5 p.m. Aug. 21, and voters have until Oct. 10 to register before early voting begins Oct. 23.

Take a look at the races happening in your city or school district for Nov. 7, according to the county’s Elections Administrator Kathy Van Wolfe:

City of Bruceville-Eddy

Bruceville-Eddy has three at-large seats open for this fall, all of which are two-year terms. The seats include mayor and two council seats. The mayor’s seat is held by Connally Bass.

City of Hallsburg

In the small town of Hallsburg, three alderman seats are up for grabs.

City of Leroy

Leroy City Council has also has three seats open this November.

City of Moody

In Moody, the two-year terms for three of the city’s alderman have expired.

City of Riesel

And two-year terms are also up for three of Riesel’s city council members, all of which are at-large seats. Those members’ whose terms are expiring include Mayor Brandon Blasingame, council member Bobby Dieterich and treasurer Kevin Hogg.

City of Robinson

Three at-large, two-year term city council positions are also up for grabs in Robinson.

City of Ross

The city of Ross also has three council seats open.

City of West

West, too, has three city council seats open for November ballot. The seats include Mayor Tommy Muska, council members Karla Dulock and David Pratka.

Hallsburg ISD

Candidates can apply for one of two at-large school board seats in Hallsburg ISD.

Moody ISD

The same number of seats open at Hallsburg ISD, two, are also open in Moody ISD, both at-large seats.

Riesel ISD

In Riesel ISD, two three-year-term seats and one seat for an unexpired, one-year term are on the ballot.

Robinson ISD

Robinson ISD has three trustee positions open.

The seats include Place 4, currently held by Jeff Strain; Place 5, held by Board President Laura Crawford; and Place 6, held by Jabo Rubin.

West ISD

In West ISD, terms are ending for two trustees: Board President Larry Sparks, who holds Position 1; and Position 2, held by Leigh Crawshaw.

For more information on these elections, how to file or register to vote, visit

Shelly Conlon has covered K-12 education for the Tribune-Herald since July 2016. Prior to the Tribune-Herald, she was the managing editor for the Waxahachie Daily Light, and an intern for the Corpus Christi Caller-Times.

Recommended for you