Swearing in

Tony Abad (from left), Alejandro G. Meade III and Curtis Cleveland were sworn in by 19th State District Court Judge Ralph Strother as new members of the Texas State Technical College board of regents.

TSTC photo

Texas State Technical College recently installed three new members to its board of regents.

A special meeting was held Nov. 15 at the John B. Connally Technology Center on the Waco campus and included a meal prepared by the TSTC Culinary Arts program.

Tony Abad and Curtis Cleveland, both of Waco, and Alejandro G. Meade III, of Mission, were sworn in for six-year terms by 19th State District Court Judge Ralph Strother. They were recently appointed by Gov. Greg Abbott.

Abad is a mechanical design engineer at SyberJet Aircraft. He is a past board member of Big Brothers Big Sisters of McLennan County and past president of the Hispanic Republican Club of McLennan County, Sanger Heights Neighborhood Association and the Waco Sunrise Rotary.

Abad has an associate degree in drafting and design from TSTC in Harlingen.

Curtis Cleveland is vice president at Central Texas Iron Works Inc. in Waco. He is a member of the Greater Waco Advanced Manufacturing Academy Executive Committee, the Extraco Bank advisory board of directors, the Texas Sports Hall of Fame board of directors and other organizations.

Cleveland has been a member of the TSTC Foundation board of directors since 2002.

Cleveland has a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Texas Tech University.

Meade is chief executive officer of the Mission Economic Development Corporation in the Rio Grande Valley. He is a member of the Texas Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors and the Texas State Affordable Housing Corporation.

Leaving the board are Penny Forrest of Waco, who served from 2009 to 2017; James Virgil Martin of Sweetwater, who served from 2004 to 2017; and Linda McKenna of Harlingen, who served from 2009 to 2017.

Recommended for you