Corey P. Carbonara, Ph.D., a professor of film and digital media in Baylor University’s College of Arts and Sciences, was named the recipient of the Nat Tiffen Award for outstanding educational contributions to the art and craft of cinematography.

The award was announced Sept. 27 in Los Angeles by the International Cinematographers Guild.

Carbonara, director of the Digital Communication Technologies Project at Baylor, was one of four individuals chosen to receive awards. In 2000, Texas Monthly distinguished Carbonara as one of the “Most Powerful Texans in High Tech.” He also is a member of the Academy of Digital Television Pioneers.

Class acts

Amanda Easter, a junior at Crawford High School, was among 30 high school juniors and seniors who attended the fourth annual ECE Unplugged summer camp sponsored by the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Texas A&M University.

ECE Unplugged helps show high school students what it’s like to be an engineering student at Texas A&M.

During the camp, participants completed several projects, including designing a solar speeder, building a circuit and programming smartphones to launch a rocket, capturing-processing signals to develop computer-generated sound using LabView and designing and fabricating their own glass wafer using the department’s Chip Fabrication Lab facilities.

University of Central Oklahoma student James Mathis, a junior biomedical engineering major from Waco, received the Engineering and Physics Scholarship from Central’s College of Mathematics and Science in recognition of academic excellence and outstanding service to the university.

China Spring resident Patiance Villa, a senior special education-elementary education major, was named to Oklahoma Baptist University’s president’s honor roll for the spring semester.

Named to the dean’s list for the spring semester at Texas State University in San Marcos were Kurt McLean of Bruceville; Christian Jacobs, Katelyn Stephenson and Nicholas Lalley, all of Hewitt; Chandler Snodgrass, Cody Lovejoy and Stevie Sharp, all of Lorena; Madison Walsh of McGregor; Lauren Shelton, Oscar Rangel-Vargas, Cesar Najera, Justin Gonzales, Breann Gilchrest, Dalton Chisolm-Morgan, Jessica Cotto and Hannah Williams, all of Waco; Andrew Feyerherm of West; and Collin Pagel, Kendall Schmalriede and Tanner McGee, all of Woodway.

Class acts

Army Pvt. Carl W. Estes III, a 2010 graduate of Riesel High School, has graduated from basic combat training at Fort Jackson in Columbia, S.C. He is the grandson of Charles Kelly of Waco.