Early voting

Filing ended Friday for a several local city and school district races.

Staff photo — Rod Aydelotte, file

As early voting started this week for a round of primary elections on March 6, filing ended for a series of local city council and school board elections that will be held May 5.

Unless there are last-minute write-ins for uncontested races, the races will likely be canceled, officials said.

The last day to register to vote in the May election is April 5.

Waco Independent School District board President Pat Atkins and District 2 Trustee Stephanie Korteweg did not draw challengers in their re-election bids.

Board Secretary Norman Manning, who represents District 1 and is also running for Precinct 2 county commissioner, also filed to run again. Manning will have a challenger in 29-year-old Ashley Womack, an emotional aide.

School board members serve three-year terms.

City council races


There will be two contested races for the Bellmead City Council.

Incumbent Gary Moore, Allen Samuels salesman, filed for re-election and is being challenged by retired photographer Linda Robinson.

Precinct 4 council member William Boyd Ridings is being challenged by Jose R. Arrollo Jr. Both are retired.

Bellmead Precinct 3 council member Mark W. Pace filed for re-election and did not draw challengers.

Beverly Hills

Beverly Hills incumbents Joe Frank Holder, Tony Garcia and Michael Thompson filed for re-election for the two-year terms and did not draw challengers.


Five people have filed for three at-large seats on the Crawford City Council.

Incumbents Frances Roe, Terrence Smith and Jamie Burgess each filed for the race, along with newcomers Anthony Bubert and Brian Porter. Each seat is for a two-year term.


Hewitt incumbents Wilbert “Walky” Wachtendorf, Bill Fuller and Steve Fortenberry all filed for re-election and did not draw challengers.

Lacy Lakeview

Lacy Lakeview incumbents Amy Hall, Patrick Bell and Jerry Hall each filed for re-election and did not draw a challenger.


Lorena City Council incumbents J. Fagner, Jeff Linnstaedter and Kelly Yarbrough each filed for re-election and did not draw opponents.


Four people are running for three at-large seats on the Mart City Council.

Newcomer Tomas Mansfield is challenging incumbents Zac Byrd, Henry Witt III and Kevin Schaffer for the two-year seats.

Mart City Council member John Garrett is uncontested in his bid to retain the unexpired, one-year term on the council he was appointed to last month.


Three people filed for the Ward 4 seat on the McGregor City Council.

Incumbent Joe Leos is being challenged by John Ronnie Guerra and Jeffrey Clayton Douglas.

McGregor Mayor Jimmy Hering and incumbent Ward Two council member Paul Allison filed for re-election and were not challenged.

Valley Mills

The Valley Mills city secretary was out Tuesday and not able to provide candidate information. Prior requests for filing information also went unanswered.


The District 1 Waco City Council seat has drawn four candidates.

Dwayne Banks, an East Waco businessman and delivery driver, Luis Mike Guevara, an operations manager at Poppa Rollo’s Pizza, nonprofit director Andrea Barefield and retiree Cecil McDowell are each vying for the District 1 seat currently held by Noah Jackson Jr. Jackson is not seeking to run for a full term. The council appointed Jackson to the seat last summer to fill out the term of Councilman Wilbert Austin, who died shortly after stepping down as he battled cancer.

Waco Mayor Kyle Deaver filed for a second two-year term and did not draw an opponent. District 3 Councilman John Kinnaird, a trust officer, was also unopposed as he seeks a third term.


The Woodway City Council will have one contested race.

Two people filed for the Ward 2 seat on the council. Incumbent Mike Tamberella withdrew his application at the last minute. David W. Achterhof and Kevin R. Kehlenback each filed for the Ward 2 seat.

Newcomer Vic Sober is uncontested in his bid for the Woodway City Council Ward 3 seat held by Gil Lillard, who is not seeking re-election.

School district races

Bosqueville ISD

Incumbents Robby James, Heath Jackson, Jeff Bird and newcomer Jim Brejcha each filed for one of the three at-large positions up for election. School board members serve three-year terms.

China Spring ISD

China Spring has three seats open for this election. Newcomers Joseph Grubick, Steve May and Matt Penney are running for Place 7. Newcomer Trey Oakley applied for Place 4 and Board Vice President Jeff Bradburn filed for re-election to Place 5. Seats were up for Secretary Jeff Garrett and Boyd Kent, but the two did not apply. The district’s only contested race will be for Place 7.

Connally ISD

President Steven Carter and Vice President Greg Davis will vie for three at-large seats, along with challengers April Pullen and Jason Hancock. Board member Mike Anderson did not file. All three seats have three-year terms.

Crawford ISD

Two newcomers, Nathan Lammert and Cory Westerfeld, are uncontested in their bids for two at-large seats with three-year terms up for election on Crawford ISD’s board. A third newcomer, John Baker, withdrew from the race after initially filing.

The incumbents, Vice President Marvin Hickey and Assistant Secretary Michael Hazzard, are not seeking re-election.

La Vega ISD

Only incumbents Phil Bancale and Myron Ridge have filed for re-election on the La Vega ISD school board, so the district will cancel its election. Both seats are at-large positions with three-year terms.

Lorena ISD

Incumbents Greg Hansen and William Woody, and newcomer Kristi Humphreys have filed for the three at-large seats up for election.

Marlin ISD

No one filed for Marlin ISD’s open seats in District C and District D. The district canceled its elections Monday night. Because state officials appointed a board of managers to take over the duties and power of the elected board in February last year, anyone elected would not be able to serve until the appointed board of managers is removed by the state.

Mart ISD

Only incumbents Russell Carroll and board Secretary Sara Deike filed for their at-large positions that come with three-year terms. The race is uncontested.

Midway ISD

Incumbent Tom Pagel filed for re-election for Place 3 on the Midway ISD school board, and newcomer Brad Alford filed for the Place 4 seat, which is held by Bobby Deaton. Deaton did not file for re-election, so the races are uncontested. The district will cancel the election in March.

Valley Mills ISD

Only incumbents Bret Hodges, Tammie Mann-Chrisman and Secretary Mike Jones have filed for the Valley Mills ISD school board. The three open seats are elected at-large and come with three-year terms.

Cassie L. Smith has covered county government for the Tribune-Herald since June 2014. She previously worked as a reporter for the Beaumont Enterprise and The Eagle in Bryan-College Station. Smith graduated from the University of Texas at Arlington.

Shelly Conlon has covered K-12 education for the Tribune-Herald since July 2016. Prior to the Tribune-Herald, she was the managing editor for the Waxahachie Daily Light, and an intern for the Corpus Christi Caller-Times.

Recommended for you